Photography NPA SCQF Level 5

What is special about this course?

The National Progression Award (NPA) is designed to develop your knowledge and understanding in photography. 

Delivered online the course covers areas including understanding different photography genres and concepts, practical skills in photographing people and places, and organising and working with photographic images.

You will also enhance your skills in research and presentation as well as practical basics in taking and editing photographs. These are transferable skills valuable in many sectors but will also equip you to move into further study or into employment that requires working to a brief, creativity, initiative and an eye for detail.

Special features

  • The course is delivered by online teaching
  • Learn how to better utilise accessible equipment i.e. smart phone
  • Provides a route into further creative study
  • Build a new peer network through shared interest in photography
  • Gain basic skills in Adobe Suite

Entry requirements

One National 4 is desirable in a creative subject such as photography, art or digital media. 

A willingness to learn about and engagement in photography.

Course content includes four mandatory units (24 SCQF credit points):

  • Understanding Photography
  • Photographing People
  • Photographing Places
  • Working with Photographs


You will require access to a smart phone camera, a laptop/iPad and have reliable internet connection. Editing software will be accessible through the college.

How will I study my course?

  • Part Time

The course will be delivered online with scheduled classes.

How long will my course last?

1 Academic Year

4 hours online per week over 1 academic year

Where can I study my course?

    • Moray College UHI

Start date



The good news is that depending on your personal circumstances there are a wide range of bursaries, grants and allowances available to fund your college studies.

What can I do on completion of my course?

On successful completion of this course you may progress on to:

  • Higher Photography
  • University of the Arts London Level 3 Diploma in Art and Design (National 5 English also required)

Is there more information available online?

QR Code - scan to visit course page

You can use the above QR code to connect directly to the course details.

Apply for Photography NPA SCQF Level 5

We are no longer accepting applications for 2021/22

I want to start in 2022/23

We are delighted that you are thinking about studying at Moray College UHI. Moray College operates a fair and open admissions system committed to equality of opportunity and non-discrimination. We consider all applications on merit and on the basis of ability to achieve, without discrimination on grounds of age, disability, gender identity, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity status, race, religion and/or belief, sex, sexual orientation or socio-economic background. We welcome applications from all prospective students and aim to provide appropriate and efficient services to students with disabilities.